MBA Profile Evaluation for 2022 Intake

Please submit your profiles for evaluation for MBA '22 Intake

41
1

Hi Sir,
Request you to kindly evaluate my profile and suggest prospective schools I should be aiming for Fall 2022 intake.

GMAT: 730(Q51, V37)
Male |23 | Indian

Work Experience
2yr.-Maintenance Engineer in Amway Mfg. plant
->Led a team of 5 technicians, directly responsible for maintenance, troubleshooting, continuous improvement activities and CAPEX related projects related to entire cosmetics block of manufacturing plant

Education
B.Tech Electrical Engineering, IIT Delhi (6.7/10)
12th- 93.8%
10th- 10/10

Scholastic Achievements

  • Best Bachelor Thesis Project in the area of Power Apparatus & Systems in Electrical Engineering
  • Global Engineering Leadership Scholarship for Summer Research Program at NTHU, Taiwan
  • KVPY fellow
  • NTSE Scholar

Extracurriculars

  • Volunteer, Ramakrishna Mission, Delhi: Sanitation Improvement Project (2 months):- Spent 20 days in village surveying households to identify needy ones for sanitation facility construction

  • Executive-Entrepreneurship & Development Cell (eDC), IIT Delhi

Hobbies
Running(Half-marathon runner), Dancing, Table Tennis

recent by Amit  ·  Aug 18 at 3:40 pm
96
1

Hi Sir,
Request you to please evaluate my profile. Also, please suggest if I should target applications in R1 or R2.

Pankaj Agrawal [M28]

Education:
IIT Kharagpur (2010-15), B. Arch: 8.2/10 CGPA

  • Foreign Internship (6 months): CPG Corporation, Singapore
  • Inter IIT Badminton Captain: Led the team to win several medals in National intercollegiate tournaments.

12th: 81.8%
10th: 89.8%

Work-Experience:
6 years+ in a single company, across different functions, roles & countries, with 4 promotions. [OYO]

  • Ops Manager: Joined a 1.5-year-old startup then, built processes for Operations, front-ending to problem solve customers and merchants experience. (1 Yr)
  • Demand Manager: Built B2B Sales process, and generated highest sales in the country (among 1000+ people). Top sales performer of the country. (1 Yr)
  • KAM Head: Started 'Key Account Management' function for B2b sales, generating $30M revenue annually. Building team from scratch, I headed a 30 member team to manage India's top 100 Corporate accounts. (2 Yrs)
  • Program Manager (Location: Shanghai, China- largest market): Built and managed different revenue streams under CEO China. (1 Yr)
  • Program Manager: Under President- International, implementing products across key international geographies including US, UK, China, ME, LATAM & SEA. (1 Yr)

Extra-curriculars:

  • Volunteering in teaching underprivileged 6-12 yrs age (1 Yr).
  • National level Badminton & State level Chess player

MBA goals: Career accelerator & leadership

Target Schools: M7

GMAT Score: I have been preparing (self) for almost a year now. First attempt (15 Jul'20): 660 (Q50 V29). Targeting 730+ (By Sep-mid).

Questions/Suggestions:

  1. What chance do I stand for M7 if I apply in R2 this year? Would I miss a chance if I do not apply in R1? (I wish I could apply in R1. But, improving my Verbal score will require a month's effort at least, and managing application process for R1 deadlines will be a rush.)

  2. I understand I belong to an over-represented group (Indian IT Male Engineer), does my 'B.Arch' degree help me stand-out?

  3. Anything I should do to add brownie points to my profile for R2 applications?

Thank you

recent by Amit  ·  Jul 25 at 9:52 pm
76
1
Challa Rohit posted Jul 21 at 4:40 am

Hello,

Please evaluate my profile:
25 | Male | Indian
GMAT: 750 (Q51,V40)
Work-ex:
Consultant - ZS Associates (4.2 years)
Founder - Pawer (6 months part-time)
Freelancer - Mobile app developer

Education:
B.Tech Mechanical Engineering from IIT BHU, Varanasi - 7.1/10
12th - 96.3%
10th - 10/10

Extracurriculars
Student parliament, IIT BHU
Placement Committee Convenor, IIT BHU
Captain, Blitzkrieg - IIT BHU
Core team - COMET and Kashi Yatra - IIT BHU

Hobbies
Endurance cycling

I am learning Spanish as well, hope to get some progress by R1.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Thank you!
Best,
Rohit Challa

recent by Amit  ·  Jul 25 at 9:00 pm
75
1
Shashank Ranjan posted Jul 4 at 10:28 pm

Hey Please evaluate my profile.
Shashank Ranjan [M27]
10th - 85.6%
12th - 73.3%
Graduated in 2015 from IIT ISM Dhanbad with an absolute GPA of 7.15/10.
2 Summer Intern and 1 Winter Intern with Uranium Corporation of India, Escorts Construction Ltd, and L&T Heavy Earth Moving Ltd.
Co-curricular activities:

  1. Secretary of American Society of Mechanical Engineering, IIT ISM Dhanbad Chapter
  2. Co-Coordinator of Tech Fest, 2013.
  3. Captain of District Cricket Team.
  4. Represented college in inter-IIT cultural fest in Dancing with the crew, etc.
  5. Worked with Kartavya NGO (Student-run NGO) as a teacher for poor students.

Work Experience:

  1. Vedanta Resources: June 2015 - Jan 2016 [GET --> Shift Incharge, Mechanical]
  2. Legistify: Feb 2016 - Mar 2017 [Manager Strategy and Operation] (Start-up)
  3. Mar 2017 - Aug 2018 [Took a complete break for UPSC]
  4. Tata Trusts, Ministry of Women and Children Development: Aug 2018 - Aug 2019 [District Consultant to District Magistrate --> State Consultant to PMU, Haryana]
  5. Blackbuck: Aug 2019 - Jul 2020 [Manager Supply Operations, North India]
  6. Whitehat Jr: Jul 2020 - Oct 2020 [Senior Manager Supply Operation, International Business] (Start-up)
  7. Udayy: Oct 2020 - Feb 2021 [Head of Supply and Business Development] (Start-up)
  8. Quality Council of India, Ministry of Commerce and Industry: March 2021 - Present [National Project Manager, Transformation of Supply chain in FCI]

Whitehat Jr and Udayy were quick to change due to COVID-19 situations.

Soft Skills:

  1. Microsoft Office [ Excel = PPT > Word]
  2. SQL
  3. Tableau

Hobbies:

  1. Playing cricket, football, table tennis, and badminton
  2. Dancing
  3. Geography
  4. Traveling
  5. Cooking

I am thinking of applying in Round 1 and yet to give the GMAT exam. What would be an ideal/average score that you would suggest for the top 10-15 colleges in the US?

recent by Amit  ·  Jul 9 at 11:08 am
122
1

Hi,

Request you to help me evaluate whether a new job would be beneficial to my MBA journey.

Profile:
Dual Degree from Top 5 IITs, GPA: 7.92/10
I have a three-year gap in my profile due to the UPSC exam.
Post this, I joined the top 3 valued startups in India as Assistant Manager - Category Operations in the International division for 2 years.
I currently work in a B2B startup as a program manager for the last 6 months.

Goals: 1 year MBA for 2023 admit preferably in a school focusing on tech.
Long-term goal: technology/product-based venture on my own.

I have currently received an offer from an early-stage startup with just seed funding to be part of their core team.

But I am scared that this might look on my resume like I jumped between jobs without direction since my job description of my new job is very similar to my current job.

How should I be considering this job along with my MBA journey?

recent by Amit  ·  Jun 11 at 1:48 pm
145
1

Hello Sir,

Hope you are in good health. Wanted to get your opinion on how strong/not strong my profile is as a potential MBA student targeting the US schools mainly.

Name: Shambhavi Mehrotra
Age: 25
Nationality: Indian

Target schools: Among top 20-25 in the US.

Required specialization: Marketing/Communications management

Undergrad education: BA (honors) Economics from Hindu college, Delhi University; graduated with 68% (first division)

School: Humanities with 96.5%, stream topper at school level; 100/100 in psychology.

Total work experience: 4 years; Industry: Digital media/new internet/news
-The Economic Times Wealth (online): 2018-current as a senior digital content producer
-POPxo: 2017-2018 as a community associate

Test scores
GMAT: 700, (Q45, V41 and 6 in AWA)

Certifications
-Marketing Psychology: How to become a master of influence” course online from Udemy (2020)
-Digital Marketing course from the Electronics Service & Training Centre, under the GoI’s MSME Ministry (2016)

Volunteer work
-Assisted in content, campaign creations for a non-profit collective aimed at working for social causes in India
-Assisted in creating a platform for verifying leads for covid-19 patients Pan-India, verified leads and resources for the same
-Assisted in delivery of food as an essential service for homegrown catering service

Extra curriculars
-Western and Indian classical dance
-Synthesizer/Indian and Western classical music

Languages
-English, Hindi and (basic/beginner level) French

recent by Amit  ·  May 13 at 8:10 am
184
1
Hitman_007 posted May 11 at 11:16 am

Hope you are doing well!
I would request you to please evaluate my profile based on the details below. Please let me know in case I have missed some basic details.

28 years old | Male | Indian

Target Schools
FT Top 10 (Need advice on the schools I can target)

Academics
Bachelors (B.Tech – Civil Engineering) | 7.72/10 CGPA | Jadavpur University
Masters (MS in Economics) | 76% | Indian Statistical Institute

Professional Experience (Full Time)
Deloitte (Risk Consultant 1.5 years)
UBS (Quant Risk 2.5 years)
Goldman Sachs (Risk Strats 2 months (present job))

Stint with Entrepreneurship
Failed ed-tech startup with user base of 30k+ at its peak.

Social Experience
Greenpeace ( 1 year )
Mentors without Borders ( 1.5 years, ongoing )

Certifications
FRM, Global Association of Risk Professional, USA

Test Scores
GMAT - Not Given
GRE - 325 ( 170 Quant )
TOEFL - 111

Extra Curriculars
Violin (Indian Classical), Martial Arts

Long Term Goals
Work in Hedge Funds

recent by Amit  ·  May 13 at 5:21 am
7
14
0
Actions
Hide topic messages
Enable infinite scrolling
All posts under this topic will be deleted ?
Pending draft ... Click to resume editing
Discard draft